NEWS, TRENDS AND LONG-TERM FAVOURITES

Which motorbike is your favourite brand launching this year? Which helmet is a must-have this season? Here you will find many innovations and trends directly from the Swiss motorbike industry to read up on and be inspired by.

Motorbikes up to 125 cc

1 January 2021 was a day of jubilation for Swiss youth. After long years of waiting, they too, like the youth from the EU countries, were allowed to climb onto modern 125cc four-stroke motorbikes (maximum 15 hp, ABS is a legal requirement) from the age of 16. The time of the whining, rattling and difficult-to-ride 50cc two-strokes thus finally came to an end. No wonder, new registrations of 125cc bikes in 2021 rose almost vertically, and with 8480 units, the 125cc class even catapulted to first place in the sector statistics in its first year, ahead of the big hulks with 750 and 1000 cubic centimetres of displacement. The range of models in the 125cc class is very broad and attractive; in addition to the traditional manufacturers from Japan and Europe, Chinese brands with low prices are increasingly courting young customers.

Motorbikes over 125 cc

Switzerland is a motorbike country. The motorised two-wheeler is exceptionally popular, especially as a leisure and hobby machine. With 35,258 newly registered motorbikes, a new all-time record was set in 2021. In view of the average age of around 45 years, the heavy traffic volume as well as the restrictions imposed by the legislator, the trend away from sports motorbikes and towards a quieter pace has intensified further in recent years. Today, what is most in demand are easily accessible, visually attractive and attractively priced two-wheelers with a comfortable seating position and the latest achievements and gadgets in the world of electronics. Motorbikes in retro style, but which are absolutely modern in terms of technology and riding dynamics, are also very much in demand. For women, who make up up to a third of the clientele depending on the segment, the industry increasingly has models in its range that can be customised.

Scooters

The nimble city runabouts are very popular in Switzerland. In 2021, 18,611 scooters were newly redeemed, with around one third going to female drivers. Around two-thirds of the new redemptions (12,384 units) concern the class up to 125 cm3, which has been accessible since 1 January 2021 from the age of 16 and with the A1 driving licence. Electric technology is slowly but surely making inroads; after all, just under ten percent (1,775 units) of the new "scooters" put on the market are electrically powered. The prices of the e-scooters, which are almost exclusively in the smallest segment (up to 45 km/h), are still somewhat higher than those of petrol-powered vehicles. With more than 3,000 units and thus a market share of twenty percent, scooters with large displacement and powerful engines that are suitable for motorways and long distances are also very popular in Switzerland and represent an alternative to a "real" motorbike for many people.

Electric motorbikes

The motorbike as a leisure and hobby machine is popular in Switzerland. With 35,258 motorbikes, a new all-time record was set for new registrations in 2021. However, only 1.3 % of this figure (471 units) were two-wheelers with electric drive. However, this has nothing to do with motorbike fans being against e-technology. The wallflower existence of the e-bike has other reasons. A motorbike has much less space for energy storage than a car. This limits the range, which is a decisive factor for a vehicle that is used almost 100 % as a leisure and hobby vehicle - keyword: extended weekend trips. In addition, the installation of charging stations is almost exclusively aimed at urban areas and thus the automotive sector. Another decisive factor for the end consumer is the fact that the industry is still hardly able to offer models that can compete with traditional technology in terms of price/performance ratio.

Electric scooter

The future belongs to them: Electrically powered, easy-to-operate and lightweight scooters are a perfect choice for inner-city, hectic and low-speed short-distance traffic. Power, top speed and range play only subordinate roles in these utility vehicles. In addition to the various Chinese manufacturers, the traditional motorbike and scooter brands from Japan and Europe have now also recognised the central importance of this sector and are increasingly bringing neatly styled, high-quality and also competitively priced models onto the market. Small, replaceable batteries and/or batteries that can be recharged at external charging stations are already the norm. Experts believe that in a few years the urban-oriented small scooter sector will be made up almost exclusively of e-vehicles.

Clothing

Whether it's a leather suit, a textile suit or biker jeans: the range of individually combinable clothing is huge. Sport and roadster riders prefer classic, form-fitting leather jackets and trousers that look good and keep the highly effective protectors where they belong. Off-road, long-distance and touring riders swear by the polyvalence and lightness of textile clothing with dozens of pockets and complex ventilation systems. Both variants offer a lot of safety. Electronics have long since found their way into the clothing sector: More and more jackets and suits are either equipped with airbag systems as standard or are prepared for them. Various suppliers also offer heated gloves and boots. The safety standard includes bright, reflective colours throughout; the days of the plain black leather one-piece are long gone.

Helmets

Although all helmets approved for use on the road must meet the European standard ECE-R 06, the price range between the cheapest department stores' head protectors and real premium helmets is gigantic. The former are already available for less than 100 francs, while the most expensive (and demonstrably best in terms of safety) helmets exceed the 1000 franc barrier. The range of fibreglass, polycarbonate and carbon constructions is very large, and there are no limits to the design either; as with motorbikes and clothing, there are sports, touring, roadster, off-road or retro-oriented variants. All well-known manufacturers also offer flip-up helmets for spectacle wearers. Important: Full-face helmets (one-piece, with chin guard) have a significantly higher protection factor than jet helmets (open front, without chin guard).

Tyres

A rubber compound with different degrees of hardness, which usually merges smoothly into one another (multi-compound), is now standard on almost all top tyres, as is a radial structure of the tyre carcasses. Thus, the big tyre manufacturers are increasingly mastering the double balancing act between high "grip" on dry and wet roads and the longest possible service life or mileage. The approach is clear: in the centre of the tread, a hard compound that is as wear-resistant as possible - in which today not only carbon black and rubber, but increasingly also synthetic building materials (silica) are used - should guarantee mileage, while the softer sidewalls promote grip. Thanks to the use of silica construction materials developed in the laboratory, the modern, high-quality tyres offer plenty of grip from the very first bend, even when cold. It is important to choose a tyre that suits your weight, engine power and driving style; a visit to a specialist garage is strongly recommended.

Equipment and accessories

Thanks to or because of the electronic age, the flood of useful accessories and sometimes somewhat less useful gadgets is almost unmanageable. On the motorbike itself, traction control, cornering ABS, headlights that shine into the bends and smartphone compatibility (especially for navigation and telephony) are already mostly standard; currently, distance warning systems with gently intervening brakes are making inroads similar to those in cars. For practically all models, the manufacturers already offer extensive accessory programmes for customising the vehicle. The trend is towards accessory exhaust systems, electronic suspension systems, airbag vests/jackets, complex communication and audio systems for the helmet and head-up displays.

Aprilia RS 660 Limited Edition

Mid-range sports, 2-cylinder, 659 cc, 99 BHP, 67 Nm, 183 kg, from CHF 13,295.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_DE/

Aprilia Tuareg 660

Mid-range adventure, 2-cylinder, 79 BHP, 70 Nm, 222 kg, from CHF 12,995.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_DE/

Aprilia Tuono 660 Factory

Sporty all-rounder, in-line 2-cylinder, 99 BHP, 67 Nm, 183 kg, price TBD

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_DE/

Aprilia Tuono V4 Factory Dark

Sporty naked, V4, 999 cc, 173 BHP, 121 Nm, 209 kg, from CHF 21,195.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_DE/

show more

NOUVEAUTÉS, TENDANCES ET CLASSIQUES

Quelle moto lance ta marque préférée cette année? Quel casque sera le plus à la mode cette saison? Tu trouveras ici de nombreuses nouveautés et tendances de la branche suisse de la moto pour t'informer et te laisser inspirer.

Motos avec cylindrée jusqu’à 125 cm3

Le 1er janvier 2021 a été un jour de jubilation pour la jeunesse suisse. Après de longues années d'attente, ils pourront eux aussi, à l'instar des jeunes des pays de l'UE, enfourcher des motos 125 modernes à quatre temps (15 CV maximum, ABS obligatoire) dès l'âge de 16 ans, l'époque des 50 deux-temps, bruyants, pétaradants et difficiles à conduire, étant ainsi définitivement révolue. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que les nouvelles immatriculations de 125 aient grimpé en flèche en 2021. Avec 8480 unités, la catégorie 125 s'est même propulsée à la première place des statistiques sectorielles dès la première année, devant les grosses cylindrées de 750 et 1000 centimètres cubes. L'offre de modèles dans la catégorie des 125 cm3 est très large et attractive.

Motos avec cylindrée supérieure à 125 cm3

La Suisse est un pays de motards. Le deux-roues motorisé est extrêmement populaire, notamment en tant qu'engin de loisirs et de hobby. Avec 35 258 motos neuves immatriculées en 2021, un nouveau record de tous les temps a été établi. Compte tenu de l'âge moyen d'environ 45 ans, de la forte circulation ainsi que des restrictions imposées par le législateur, la tendance à l'abandon des motos sportives au profit d'une allure plus tranquille s'est encore renforcée ces dernières années. Aujourd'hui, la demande porte surtout sur des deux-roues faciles d'accès, visuellement et financièrement attrayants, dotés d'une position d'assise confortable et équipés des dernières nouveautés et gadgets du monde électronique. Les motos de style rétro, mais qui correspondent absolument aux temps modernes en termes de technique et de dynamique de conduite, sont également très demandées. Pour les femmes, qui représentent jusqu'à un tiers de la clientèle selon le segment, la branche propose de plus en plus de modèles personnalisables.

Scooters

Les scooters urbains agiles jouissent d'une grande popularité en Suisse. En 2021, 18'611 scooters ont été immatriculés, dont un tiers environ à des conductrices. Environ deux tiers des nouvelles immatriculations (12'384 unités) concernent la catégorie jusqu'à 125 cm3, accessible depuis le 1er janvier 2021 à partir de 16 ans et avec le permis A1. La technique électrique fait lentement mais sûrement son entrée, près de dix pour cent (1'775 unités) des "scooters" nouvellement mis en circulation sont tout de même propulsés électriquement. Les prix des scooters électriques, qui se situent presque exclusivement dans le segment le plus petit (jusqu'à 45 km/h), sont toutefois encore tous un peu plus élevés que ceux des véhicules à essence. Avec plus de 3000 unités et donc 20% de part de marché, les scooters de forte cylindrée et à moteur puissant, donc adaptés aux autoroutes et aux longues distances, sont également très appréciés en Suisse et représentent pour beaucoup une alternative à une "vraie" moto.

Motos électriques

La moto en tant qu'engin de loisirs et de hobby est très appréciée en Suisse. Avec 35 258 motos, un nouveau record absolu a été établi en 2021 pour les nouvelles immatriculations. Mais seuls 1,3 % de ce chiffre (471 unités) concernaient des deux-roues à propulsion électrique. Cela n'a rien à voir avec le fait que les fans de moto sont contre la technologie électrique. La discrétion des e-motos s'explique par d'autres raisons. Une moto dispose de beaucoup moins de place pour stocker l'énergie qu'une automobile. L'autonomie est donc limitée, ce qui joue un rôle décisif dans le cas d'un véhicule utilisé presque à 100 % pour les loisirs et les hobbies - mot-clé : excursions prolongées le week-end. De plus, l'installation de stations de recharge est presque exclusivement destinée aux zones urbaines et donc au secteur automobile. Pour l'utilisateur final, le fait que la branche ne puisse encore guère proposer de modèles capables de concurrencer la technique traditionnelle en termes de rapport qualité/prix est également décisif.

Scooters électriques

L'avenir leur appartient : les scooters à propulsion électrique, faciles à utiliser et légers sont un choix parfait pour les transports urbains de courte distance, agités et caractérisés par des vitesses faibles. La puissance, la vitesse maximale et l'autonomie ne jouent qu'un rôle secondaire pour ces véhicules utilitaires. Outre les divers constructeurs chinois, les marques traditionnelles de motos et de scooters japonaises et européennes ont désormais compris l'importance cruciale de ce secteur et lancent de plus en plus de modèles au style soigné, de haute qualité et également compétitifs en termes de prix. Les petites batteries interchangeables et/ou rechargeables sur des stations de recharge externes sont déjà la norme. Les spécialistes estiment que d'ici quelques années, le secteur des petits scooters à orientation urbaine sera presque exclusivement occupé par des véhicules électriques.

Vêtements

Combinaison en cuir, combinaison textile ou jeans de biker : l'offre de vêtements à combiner individuellement est énorme. Les pilotes de sport et de roadster sont plutôt attirés par les vestes et les pantalons en cuir classiques, à la coupe près du corps, qui sont très esthétiques et qui gardent les protections hautement efficaces là où elles doivent être. Les cyclistes tout-terrain, de longue distance et de randonnée ne jurent plutôt que par la polyvalence et la légèreté des vêtements textiles avec des dizaines de poches et des systèmes d'aération complexes. Les deux variantes offrent une grande sécurité. L'électronique a également fait son entrée depuis longtemps dans le secteur de l'habillement : De plus en plus de vestes et de combinaisons sont soit équipées de systèmes d'airbags de série, soit préparées à cet effet. Divers fournisseurs proposent également des gants et des bottes chauffants. Les couleurs claires et réfléchissantes font partie du standard de sécurité, l'époque des combinaisons en cuir noir uni est depuis longtemps révolue.

Casques

Bien que tous les casques autorisés à circuler doivent répondre à la norme européenne ECE-R 06, la fourchette de prix entre les protections de tête les moins chères des grands magasins et les véritables casques haut de gamme est gigantesque. Les premiers sont déjà disponibles pour moins de 100 francs, les casques les plus chers (et dont il est prouvé qu'ils sont aussi les meilleurs du point de vue de la sécurité) dépassent la barrière des 1000 francs. L'offre de constructions en fibre de verre, en polycarbonate et en carbone est très vaste, et il n'y a pas non plus de limites au niveau du design ; comme pour les motos et les vêtements, il existe des variantes orientées sport, tourisme, roadster, offroad ou rétro. Tous les fabricants de renom proposent également des casques pliables pour les porteurs de lunettes. Important : les casques intégraux (d'une seule pièce, avec protection du menton) présentent un indice de protection nettement plus élevé que les casques jet (ouverts à l'avant, sans protection du menton).

Pneus

Aujourd'hui, presque tous les pneus haut de gamme sont dotés d'un mélange de gomme de différents degrés de dureté (multi-compound), qui se fondent généralement les uns dans les autres, ainsi que d'une structure radiale de la carcasse du pneu. Les grands fabricants de pneus maîtrisent ainsi de mieux en mieux le double équilibre entre une "adhérence" élevée sur route sèche et mouillée et une durée de vie ou un kilométrage aussi élevés que possible. L'approche est claire : au centre de la bande de roulement, un mélange dur le plus résistant possible à l'usure - dans lequel on utilise aujourd'hui non seulement du noir de carbone et du caoutchouc, mais aussi de plus en plus de matériaux de construction synthétiques (silice) - doit garantir le kilométrage, tandis que les flancs plus souples favorisent l'adhérence. Grâce à l'utilisation de matériaux de construction en silice développés en laboratoire, les pneus modernes de haute qualité offrent une bonne adhérence dès le premier virage, même à froid. Il est important de choisir un pneu adapté au poids, à la puissance du moteur et au style de conduite ; il est vivement recommandé de se rendre chez un garagiste spécialisé.

Accessoires techniques

Grâce ou à cause de l'ère de l'électronique, il est difficile de s'y retrouver dans le flot d'accessoires utiles et de gadgets parfois un peu moins utiles. Sur la moto elle-même, le contrôle de traction, l'ABS en virage, les phares qui éclairent dans les virages et la compatibilité avec les smartphones (notamment pour la navigation et la téléphonie) sont déjà la plupart du temps standard, et actuellement, les avertisseurs de distance avec freinage en douceur font leur apparition, comme en voiture. Pour pratiquement tous les modèles, les constructeurs proposent déjà une vaste gamme d'accessoires permettant de personnaliser le véhicule. Les systèmes d'échappement, les suspensions électroniques, les gilets/vestes à airbag, les systèmes audio et de communication complexes pour le casque ainsi que les affichages tête haute sont très tendance.

Aprilia RS 660 Limited Edition

Moto sportive de classe moyenne, 2 cyl., 659 cm3, 100 ch, 67 Nm, 183 kg, à partir de CHF 13 295.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_FR/

Aprilia Tuareg 660

Moto de voyage de classe moyenne, 2 cyl., 80 ch, 70 Nm, 222 kg, à partir de CHF 12 995.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_FR/

Aprilia Tuono 660 Factory

Moto sportive polyvalente, 2 cyl. en série, 100 ch., 67 Nm, 183 kg, prix ouvert

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_FR/

Aprilia Tuono V4 Factory Dark

Moto Naked sportive, V4, 999 cm3, 175 ch, 121 Nm, 209 kg, à partir de CHF 21 195.–

https://www.aprilia.com/ch_FR/

Benelli Leoncino 800

Moto Naked de Chine, 752 cm3, 76,2 ch, 68 Nm, 234 kg, prix ouvert

https://www.moteogroup.com/

Benelli 800 Trail

Moto Scrambler de classe moyenne, 752 cm3, 76,2 ch, 68 Nm, 234 kg, prix ouvert

https://schweiz.benelli.com/

Benelli TRK 800

Moto enduro de voyage, 752 cm3, 77 ch, 67 Nm, 226 kg, prix ouvert

https://schweiz.benelli.com/

Bimota KB4

Moto sportive d’avant-garde, 4 cyl. (Kawasaki), 142 ch, 111 Nm, 194 kg, prix ouvert

https://bimota.it/

Afficher plus